WJTV News Channel 12 - News Channel 11 takes home 12 AP awards

News Channel 11 takes home 12 AP awards

Posted: Updated: May 06, 2013 12:02 PM
News Channel 11 Staff News Channel 11 Staff

News Channel 11 took home five of the highest honors in our division at the Tennessee Associated Press Broadcaster Awards ceremony Saturday night in Nashville.  Among the our first place awards were Best TV Newscast, Best Spot News and Best Sports Talk Show. 

WJHL's Best TV Newscast recognition was prompted by our 6:00 p.m. August 6th coverage of massive flooding that happened in the Dry Creek community in Washington County, TN.

Evening news anchor Josh Smith received the highest honor in the state of Best TV News Anchor - two years in a row.  Smith came to WJHL in July 1999 and grew up in the Tri-Cities area as an Elizabethton-native. 

It was also Melissa's Hipolit's first time receiving an AP Broadcaster's award for Best Long Hard TV News Story for her series called "Faces of Coal Country."

Saturday night, WJHL received 6 second place awards for Best Overall, Videography, Sportscaster, Short Light Feature, Reporter and Sportscaster. 

"We're extremely proud of all our employees and honored by the awards.  WJHL has a great legacy when it comes to breaking news and investigative reporting. We're proud to continue it. " said News Director Jennifer Dale. 

Recently, our very own Nate Morabito and Phillip Murrell won an Edward R Murrow Award for their investigation into Bad Bob's BBQ.  Morabito received an honorable mention Saturday night at the AP Broadcaster's ceremony for Investigative Reporting. 

Altogether, WJHL took home 12 AP Broadcasters Awards in Division two.  

This is also WJHL's 60th year in the television business. We started our first broadcast on October 26, 1953. 

WJHL 2013 Associated Press Broadcaster Awards:

  • Best TV Newscast - First Place
  • Best Spot News - First Place
  • Best TV Sports Talk Show - Touchdown Friday Night
  • Best Long Hard TV News Story - First Place, Melissa Hipolit
  • Best TV News Anchor - First Place, Josh Smith
  • Best Overall - Second Place
  • Best Reporter - Second Place, Kylie McGivern
  • Best Short Light Feature - Second Place, Dave McAvoy
  • Best Sportscaster - Second Place, Kasey Marler
  • Best Videography - Second Place, Phillip Murrell
  • Best Producing - Second Place, Shira Evans and Yasmeen Elayan
  • Investigative Reporting - Honorable Mention, Nate Morabito

Copyright 2013 WJHL. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow

1820 TV Road
Jackson, MS 39204

Telephone: 601.372.6311
Fax: 804.819.5569
Email: wjtvnews@wjtv.com

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.