WJTV News Channel 12 - Mayor Johnson Concedes Defeat In Jackson Mayoral Primary

Mayor Johnson Concedes Defeat In Jackson Mayoral Primary

Posted: Updated:

Jackson's Mayor Harvey Johnson will not serve a fourth term.

A 12-year veteran of the position concedes the race after a poor showing in the Democratic primary.

The candidate receiving the most votes was political newcomer Jonathon Lee with 35 percent of the vote.

Lee's campaign had the largest war chest out of the 11 Democrats running in the Jackson mayoral primary.

Getting the second most votes was Jackson Councilman Chokwe Lumumba.

Lumumba finished Tuesday night with 24 percent of the vote, 11 percent behind Jonathan Lee.

Now those two candidate are preparing for a runoff election on May 21.

Tuesday's Jackson mayoral challengers included Jonathan Lee, Jackson Councilman Chokwe Lumumba, Regina Quinn, Robert Amos, Jackson Councilman Frank Bluntson, William Bright and Gwendolyn Ward Osborne Chapman.

The other candidates on Jackson's Democratic mayoral ballot were John H. Jones, Jr., Charlotte Reeves, Charles Taylor, Sr.


Powered by WorldNow

1820 TV Road
Jackson, MS 39204

Telephone: 601.372.6311
Fax: 804.819.5569
Email: wjtvnews@wjtv.com

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.