WJTV News Channel 12 - MAC All-Star Skills Competition

MAC All-Star Skills Competition

Posted: Updated:

CLINTON - They were draining threes and high wire acts at Mississippi College Sunday.  As a prelude to the Mississippi Association of Coaches All-Star Basketball Games Monday, some of the best rising seniors in the state showcased their stuff in a little skills competition.

The Mississippi Sports Medicine All-Star Girls and Boys Basketball Games will be played on Monday, July 8, 2013, at the A. E. Wood Coliseum on the campus of Mississippi College in Clinton, MS.  The 49th annual girls game will tip-off at 6:00 PM while the 59th annual boy's game will begin at approximately 7:30 PM.  Longtime MAC supporter Mississippi Sports Medicine is sponsoring the game for the 13th consecutive year.  The finals of the 3-point shooting, free throw shooting, and slam dunk contests will be held prior to the tipoff of the girls' game at 5:00 PM.  Tickets are $5.00 per person for all ages and seating is general admission and good for both games.  Admission is free to active MAC members along with their spouses and children.

Both of the All-Star games feature the North/South format.  In 2012, the North girls defeated the South 74-62 to increase their series lead to 27-21.  The South boys won their fourth straight All-Star game in the series by a score of 102-95 to extend their series lead to 37-21.  Rosters for both teams featuring rising seniors and are included with this release.

The North girls will be coached by Veronica Helms of Winona and Shayne Linzy of Oxford.  The North boys will be guided by Anthony Davis of Shaw and Michael Smith of Booneville.  The South girls' coaches are Bruce Baker of Hinds AHS and Christi Terrell of Bogue Chitto while the South boys are led by Micoe Cotton of Moss Point and Preston Wilson of Brookhaven.


(Blue Jerseys) 

NO.      NAME                                       HGT     SCHOOL                      COACH

  3        MARCUS GREEN                      5-9        NORTH PONTOTOC      CHRIS PETTIT 

  4        JACOB IVORY                          6-0        MURRAH                      TIM SPEECH 

11         DANIEL SIMMONS                   6-2        BIGGERSVILLE            CLIFF LITTLE

12         CORWIN LAWSON                    6-2        RIDGELAND                 RODERICK DAVIDSON

14         MAURICE DUNLAP II                6-2        AMANDA ELZY GERALD GLASS

20         JaDARIUS HAYMER                 6-4        YAZOO COUNTY          MICHAEL TARDY

23         XAVIAN STAPLETON               6-4        MADISON CENTRAL     RAHIM LOCKHART

24         OCTAVIUS STIMAGE               6-3        SHAW                          ANTHONY DAVIS

25         RAHEEM SORRELL                  6-4        CORINTH                      KEITH GREENE

33         JON DAVIS                               6-4        EAST SIDE                   LEROY COTTON

35         ANFERNEE HAMPTON 6-5        JIM HILL                      STANFORD SPEECH

42         JONIAH WHITE             6-11      GRENADA                    JAWORSKI RANKIN


                        MICHAEL SMITH, BOONEVILLE


(Red Jerseys) 

NO.      NAME                                       HGT     SCHOOL                      COACH

  3        ZACH PARKER             6-1        BILOXI                         SEBER WINDHAM

  4        LA'DATREN DEAS                    5-11      PASCAGOULA             RON NORMAN

11         LAFAYETTE RUTLEDGE          5-11      GAUTIER                      KEITH McQUEEN

12         DIMITRI COOK                         6-1        PASS CHRISTIAN         BUDDY KENNEDY

14         JAMES JORDAN                       6-2        RAYMOND                    ROBERT GREEN

20         EDWARD F. SIMPSON, JR.       6-3        ST. MARTIN                 CHARLIE PAVLUS

23         FRED TREVILLION                   6-3        BROOKHAVEN PRESTON WILSON

24         DENARRIUS GRAY                   6-2        SCOTT CENTRAL         DARRIN GRAY

25         OLIVER BLACK                        6-9        WINGFIELD                  HERMAN SANDERS

33         DEVIN BOOKER                       6-5        MOSS POINT               MICOE COTTON

35         RAEKWON PETTIS                   6-3        LAUREL                       MARCUS PRICE

50         HOWARD THOMAS                   6-6        BRANDON                    FREDRICK BARNES


                        PRESTON WILSON, BROOKHAVEN


(Blue Jerseys)

NO.      NAME                                       HGT     SCHOOL                      COACH

00         ALONTRA TUCKER                  5-7        ASHLAND                     AYESHA BROOKS

10         KAYLA RUSSELL                     5-6        PONTOTOC                  BILL RUSSELL

12         BLAIR SCHAEFER                    5-6        STARKVILLE                KRISTIE WILLIAMS

14         McKINNON SKEEN                   5-8        CLEVELAND                JENNY McCULLOUGH

20         A'QUEEN HAYES                     5-8        SOUTHAVEN                DAVID BALDWYN

22         MOEJHA CALMES                    5-7        NEW HOPE                  LAURA LEE HOLMAN  

23         JAMILAH SANDERS                 5-8        CANTON                       MELISSA WORD

24         AJA K. WILLIAMS                    5-9        PROVINE                     ERICA STRINGFELLOW

30         SHANDRICKA SESSOM            5-10      BYHALIA                      REGINALD JONES

32         ANDREAL FLEMING                 5-11      CANTON                       MELISSA WORD

33         D. J. SANDERS                        5-9        NEW HOPE                  LAURA LEE HOLMAN

34         LAKIMBERETA MALLORY        5-10      ITAWAMBA AHS           AMANDA MORROW


                        SHAYNE LINZY, OXFORD


(Red Jerseys)

NO.      NAME                                       HGT     SCHOOL                      COACH

00         JOHNTA' HUGHES                   5-3        HATTIESBURG CARONICA JOHNSON

10         ERICA HARRIS             5-3        HINDS AHS                  BRUCE BAKER

12         MERCEDES MORGAN              5-5        WINGFIELD                  ANITA JOHNSON

14         LINEASIA PALMER                  5-7        WILKINSON COUNTY   TRIMEKA GAINES

20         MATTIE SLADE AVANTS          5-6        BOGUE CHITTO           CHRISTI TERRELL

22         SHANIA POSEY                       5-10      SOUTH JONES             SHERRI COOLEY

23         CHRISTA REED                        5-11      BAY                             DEBBIE TRIPLETT

24         VICTORIA VIVIANS                  6-0        SCOTT CENTRAL         CHAD HARRISON

30         La'SHA HAYNES                      5-11      PORT GIBSON             HAROLD LIGGANS

32         KAYLA GORDON                      6-0        MERIDIAN                    PATRICIA WILSON      

33         ERICA NEWSOME                    6-1        GULFPORT                  DONNY FULLER

34         JESSICA POWERS                   6-6        PEARL RIVER CENT.        KAYLA INABINETT


Powered by WorldNow

1820 TV Road
Jackson, MS 39204

Telephone: 601.372.6311
Fax: 804.819.5569
Email: wjtvnews@wjtv.com

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.