Burn bans in effect in all but 7 Mississippi counties


JACKSON, Mississippi (WJTV) – The lack of rain is making drought conditions worse in the Magnolia State.

The Mississippi Forestry Commission says that, as of today, there are only seven counties in the state of Mississippi that are not under burn bans.  Burn bans have been extended in several counties, including Hinds County, and will remain in effect in most until further notice, and until those bans are lifted by Governor Phil Bryant.

The seven counties not under a burn ban (as of this posting) are:

  • Hancock
  • Harrison
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson
  • Perry
  • Stone
  • Wilkinson

For the latest burn ban information visit the Mississippi Forestry Commission’s Burn Ban Listing at: http://www.mfc.ms.gov/burn-bans.

When will it rain again?  Here is the latest Jackson, Mississippi weather forecast

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories