Reynolds, Sandlin, Berry win C-USA yearly awards

usm web_133417

Three Golden Eagles took home Conference USA yearly awards on Tuesday.

Luke Reynolds won Player and Newcomer of the Year while Nick Sandlin won Pitcher of the Year. Head coach Scott Berry took home the Coach of the Year award.

Reynolds is the first player to win both the Player and Newcomer of the Year awards in the same season. The Mississippi State transfer leads Conference USA in seven categories: batting average (.403), on-base percentage (.558), slugging percentage (.749), total bases (143), runs scored (67), home runs (15) and walks (56).

Sandlin, who won the Ferriss Trophy on Monday, has dominated on the mound. He’s 8-0 in 13 starts, posting a league-leading ERA of 1.25 with 122 strikeouts. 

Berry’s award comes after the Golden Eagles won their second straight Conference USA regular season title. He’s the first coach to win this award in consecutive years since Rice’s Wayne Graham won it three straight times from 2006-08.

Southern Miss will play in the Conference USA Tournament tomorrow against UAB at 4 p.m. 

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories