Reeves elected as Chairman of Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Development Authority


Amory Lock (Courtesy: Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Development Authority)

JACKSON, Miss. (WJTV) – Governor Tate Reeves was chosen to serve as the 2022 Chairman of the Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Development Authority.

The Authority is a four-state interstate compact made up of Mississippi, Alabama, Tennessee and Kentucky. The compact was ratified by the United States Congress in 1958 to promote the development of the Tenn-Tom Waterway and its economic and trade potential. The Authority is made up of the four governors of each state along with five appointees by each governor for a total of 24 members. Chairmanship is rotating among the four governors annually.

Mike Armour, of Tupelo, will serve as Vice-Chairman in 2022 along with T.L. Phillips, of Columbus, who was reelected as Treasurer.

The Tenn-Tom opened for commerce in 1985 and has been important for transportation and shipping of raw materials and other bulk products between mid-America and the Southeast.

“The Tenn-Tom Waterway is an integral part of the Mississippi economy and has generated billions in private capital investments and created thousands of jobs in Mississippi,” said Reeves.

Copyright 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories