Seven Mississippi schools designated as Science of Reading Schools


JACKSON, Miss. (WJTV) – On Tuesday, leaders with Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) designated seven elementary schools as the state’s first Mississippi Emerging Science of Reading Schools (SoR).

According to officials, the recognition is for schools that have trained teachers in the science of reading, exemplified a change of instructional practices, and embodied a school culture that focuses on building skillful, strong readers in kindergarten through third grade.

MDE’s Literacy Leadership Team will travel to each campus starting Tuesday to celebrate this accomplishment and present each school with a banner to display on their campus.

2021-22 Mississippi Emerging Science of Reading Schools and Celebration Schedule:

August 10, 10 a.m.Henderson-Ward Steward Elementary, Starkville-Oktibbeha School District
August 10, NoonFranklin Academy, Columbus Municipal School District
August 11, 9 a.m.East Tate Elementary School, Tate County School District
August 12, 11:30 a.m.Falkner Elementary School, North Tippah School District
August 17, 10 a.m.Poplarville Lower Elementary School, Poplarville School District
August 17, 1:30 p.m.Magnolia Park Elementary School, Ocean Springs School District
August 20, 1:30 p.m.Purvis Lower Elementary School, Lamar County School District

“Mississippi has become a national leader in literacy because our children have made more progress in reading in reading in recent years than any other state,” said Dr. Carey Wright, state superintendent of education. “Mississippi educators have committed themselves to providing instruction aligned to the science of reading so students can build the literacy skills they need to succeed throughout their education.”

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories