Troy Kimble wins Vicksburg mayoral primary runoff race


VICKSBURG, Miss. (WJTV) – Troy Kimble won the Vicksburg mayoral primary runoff race on Tuesday. Kimble received 929 votes, while his opponent, Shawn Jackson, received 644 votes.

Kimble, a Democrat, will face incumbent Mayor George Flaggs Jr. and Daryl Hollingsworth in the general election on June 8, 2021. Flaggs and Hollingsworth are both running as Independents.

Flaggs released a statement about the upcoming election.

I want to congratulate Troy Kimble and Daryl Hollingsworth for being on the June 8, 2021 ballot as candidates for Mayor of Vicksburg. I continue to believe that I’ve created a pathway to the future for the success and prosperity of Vicksburg’s future. During my over 30 years in politics, I’ve never run against people; instead, I’ve run on what I’m able to do and what I have accomplished. I also believe that when my opponents speak, I should listen because they too can have ideas that can move our city forward.”

Mayor George Flaggs, Jr., City of Vicksburg

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories