President Trump approves federal emergency declaration for Mississippi


JACKSON, Miss. (WJTV) – Governor Tate Reeves announced President Donald Trump approved his request for a federal emergency declaration in preparation of Hurricane Sally. 

“President Trump is on top of the situation to come to the aid of Mississippi yet again. We requested this federal disaster declaration yesterday, and the President was quick to approve our request to start getting help and support out to our state immediately,” said Reeves. “We are truly grateful for a president that has Mississippians’ safety at the top of his mind.”

Under the approved federal emergency declaration, FEMA is authorized to provide emergency protective measures, including direct Federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program at 75 percent federal funding for 24 Mississippi counties.

The following counties are eligible for this federal assistance: Adams, Amite, Covington, Forrest, Franklin, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marion, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Stone, Walthall, Wayne and Wilkinson. 

The purpose of a federal emergency declaration is to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, or to lessen the threat of a catastrophe in the designated areas.


Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories